Retrospective Thinking

Posted on May 25, 2008. Filed under: Inspirational, Life, You | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Hindsight is always 20/20, as they say. Are you living you life retrospectively, constantly saying things like:

  • I should have…
  • I could have…
  • I would have…

Do you have regrets, wishing that you had done something differently? No excuses. What’s done is done. Have no regrets. It is all in the past now and you can’t do change anything except how you do things in the future. Instead, think pro-actively: in the present and the future. Say:

  • I am
  • I will
  • I am going to…

Go out and get what you want out of life!

Eric πŸ™‚

For more, read Thoughts on the Day and I am Looking Forward to Tomorrow.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “Retrospective Thinking”

RSS Feed for The World Observed… Comments RSS Feed

very very inspiring… i love dropping by at your blog every now and then… its just so good… thank you πŸ™‚

Thanks, I appreciate it. Its great to hear that people like this.

I actually just started this blog Friday night (3 days ago) and am up to just under 1000 hits. I’m still working out the bugs, but would love to stop by and read your blog if I can manage to stop posting for a while…

Hi Eric
I totally agree with you on your blog post. Besides being inspiring, it also brings out some of the tragic flaws so inherent in human beings. This is the first time I am visiting your blog, and I would like to come back again.
Cheers.

I think there are two sides of human nature. People are capable of doing tremendously wonderful and great things, but they are also capable of doing wicked and horrible things. i try to focus on the positive aspects of people and to encourage and inspire people to realize their potential.

We all have flaws and problems and challenges to overcome, but we are also capable of accomplishing great things if we put our minds to it.

Thanks for the comments and I’d love to see you back.

I often obsess over the bad, the ‘what-ifs’ of things that can’t be changed, but you’re right: something so simple as changing the tense of your thoughts may just help a lot of people!

If you listen to a pessimist (and I don’t recommend that you do…), you’ll hear them grumble and complain about what they could have done, should have done, would have done, only if… They are never happy with themselves or what they’ve done. They dwell on the past and regret what they did or didn’t do. That is no way to live. Your life will pass you by if you spend it thinking about the past the entire time. Life is about the future, what you can do, not what you could have or should have done.

You have some great inspirational tips. This one is challenging for me, since I am in an immediate post-relationship state. I often find myself saying I am alone and I will get her back, even though those sorts of thoughts kind of rely on the actions of another person instead of my own. Congratulations on 1000 views and keep it up.

Everything Will Be Alright – A Journey Through Couples Therapy


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

